Freak of Nurture

$ 15.00 Excl. tax

Hilarity and chaos reign in these "slice of life" stories.

In stock
Article number:
ing0070
Quantity:
Add to cart

"If David Sedaris was a gender queer post-nun stand-up comedian lesbian, his books would pretty much read like this." -Sid, She Bop sales associate

In Freak of Nurture, Kelli Dunham demonstrates that hilarity and chaos reign when you combine what her therapist calls “deep biological optimism” with a hearty midwestern work ethic and determination to make bad ideas a fantastic reality. Whether she is writing about hitch-hiking across Haiti to help out with disaster relief, about getting kicked out of the convent for having “too much self esteem” or living on a houseboat in Philadelphia in the winter, Kelli Dunham‘s humorous interpretation of difficult situations is both inspiring and entertaining. If you’ve ever wondered why Kelli carries a sign in the Dyke March that says “I taught a nun to masturbate” you won’t want to miss this book.

In the tradition of authors such as David Sedaris and Ellen DeGeneres, Dunham's "slice of life" stories remind us that even though humans are deeply flawed, we're also seriously hysterical that way.

STORIES INCLUDE: (Dis)honoring Columbus, Sister Mercy Writes Her Home Letter, Lulu the Cat Says Screw You, Clit Teasers, Does It Take More Than Duct Tape To Be A Dyke, The ABCs of Adventures in Gender, Performing By the Numbers and many more…

Freak of Nurture also includes the full text of Kelli’s award-winning solo performance pieces, PUDDING DAY and BAD HABIT, edited into narrative form, updated and sprinkled with never before heard anecdotes.

Add
Use commas to separate tags
U maakt gebruik van een verouderde versie van
Internet Explorer, klik hier om deze te updaten.
x